A little over a month ago I listened to the first episode of  Serial, a podcast documenting a dramatized version of Hae Min Lee’s death, and the events that transpired while police attempted to find her murderer.

The podcast follows narrator Sarah Koenig as she investigates what she believes to be an example of wrongful imprisonment for one Adnan Syed, Lee’s ex-boyfriend at the time of her death. For all the reasons I’m about to state, I believe he’s innocent.

tumblr_static_you_ready

Always, Rihanna.

The first issue I had with Adnan’s imprisonment was the lack of evidence that actually pointed to him being at the crime scene. I don’t mean people saying that they saw him with his friend Jay the day of the murder, I mean real, hard evidence that totally convicts him. There aren’t any fingerprints, fibers or stray hairs that point to him actually being in the car that day. Even though that probably wouldn’t have made a difference in testifying his guilt.

The whole situation made me a little uncomfortable with how willing they were to accept that Adnan absolutely did it. I still believe that it has something to do with profiling and the fact that he has a very broadly-built Muslim man. It’s very easy for the media to paint someone like that as a guilty, rage-filled murderer of his ex-girlfriend. This can further be backed up with the fact that “Some 95 percent of felony convictions are the result of plea bargains, with no formal evidence ever presented, and most never bother with an appeal.”

giphy

Yeah, it’s really messed up, and America’s justice/prison system really needs to be fixed.

Anyway, returning to the topic at hand, most of the evidence against Adnan is either from Jay, his friend and allegedly an accomplice to the murder of Hae Min Lee, or from various other people around the campus or school who kind of think he maybe did it, or who think he did it because of an odd, convoluted series of phone calls.

Let’s not forget to mention the fact that Jay’s boss stated that the prosecutor was allegedly yelling at him for not making Adnan sound ‘creepy’ enough and that the homicide investigators who interviewed Jay believed that his story was changing.

I’m also going to point out Asia McLean’s alibi (that for some reason wasn’t used) once again. The fact that she sent multiple letters to Adnan about the incident and was also on the phone with the prosecutor beforehand does something to prove that she wasn’t at least some random woman just looking for drama. Adnan stated that he thought he was at the library around the time of Lee’s death, and Asia was able to back up the claim. The only issue is that she allegedly wasn’t told when she was supposed to show up for a court hearing.

kpttt

This is the problem that’s stated many times in the podcast. There are holes in every murder case, but it’s rare that there are so many different holes that the state is pretty much basing the entire case off of a ‘he-said-she-said’ situation.

Anyway, this is Katie, signing off.

(Blurb posted below)

One thought on “My Opinion on Adnan Syed’s Innocence

  1. I chose a blog for my form of media text because, before all else, I am a writer. The problem with writing essays is that I usually feel too constricted when trying to write because I can’t add in my own opinions or let the writing have my personal flow to it. This is why blogging becomes an easier way for me to express my views and opinions without feeling that my writing has become stunted because I’m trying to hard to make it sound formal. In a podcast or a video where I’m required to speak, I would see myself using too many fillers (Uh, like, uhm). But when I can write down what I’m trying to say, I feel like I’m a lot more articulate and able to gather my thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

